Connect with us

Summit Nigeria

Godwin Obaseki
Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki

Nigeria News

Obaseki’s Second Term: Edo Govt Sets Up Transition, Inauguration Committees

…Sets up visitation panel on Ambrose Alli University.

By Lucky Isibor

The Edo State Government has set up Transition and Inauguration Committees to midwife the commencement of the second term of Governor Godwin Obaseki administration.

While  Anthony Okungbowa, the Head of Service, Edo State will serve as Chairman of the Transition Committee, Mr. Asue Ighodalo will chairman the Inauguration Committee.

In a statement, Secretary to the State Government, Osarodion Ogie Esq., said the appointments take immediate effect.

According to him, the committees are to be inaugurated on Friday, 9th of October, 2020 at the Exco Chambers by 10am prompt.

The Transition Committee has Mrs. Debbie Enakhimion as Secretary, while Mr. Henry Tenebe, Mr. John Yakubu, Mrs. Gladys Idahor, Mr. Isaac Ehiozuwa and Mrs. B. O. Okodugha are members.

Other members include Mr. Henry Idogun, Dame Dr. Patience Isokpekhei, Hon Victor Ebomwonyi and Hon. Pascal Ugbome Esq.

Secretary of the Alaghodaro/Inauguration Committee is Mrs. Theresa Eghe-Abe while other members are Eire Ifueko Alufokhai, Engr. Ethan Uzamere and Isoken Omo.

Other members include Dr. Tony Aziegbemhin, Ukinebo Dare, Jim Fred Obaibiku, Temi Etomi and Chattie Anakhu.

In another development, the Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has set up a seven-man Special Visitation Panel to look into the affairs of Ambrose Alli University and submit its report within six (6) weeks.

ALSO READ  COVID-19: Anglican Bishop Advocates Lifestyle Change as Club Gives Cash Palliatives to Widows

In a statement, Secretary to the State Government, Osarodion Ogie Esq., said the Committee is to be inaugurated on Friday, 9th of October, 2020 at the Exco Chambers at 10am prompt.

The Panel is chaired by Prof. I. K. Omoruyi, with Prof. Lawrence Atsegbua, SAN; Mrs. M. E. Ohiowele and Mr. Roland Ogbebor as members.

Other members of the panel are Dr. J. O. Okovido, Venerable Osaze Egbenusi and Mrs. P. E. Aziegbemhin.

According to Ogie, “The Terms of Reference of the Visitation Panel include to examine the administrative structure of the university in line with the law establishing it.

“To establish the actual student population both regular and non-regular students against the accredited Faculties and Departments.

“To investigate the quality of training programmes in the university especially in relation to standard.

“To examine the finances of the university in the area of revenue generation, expenditure transparency, accountability and observance of due process.

“To critically look at the mode of employment and promotions at the university with a view to determining whether due process was observed in the recruitment and promotion and whether the staff strength vis-a-vis the carrying capacity of student’s population of the university is balanced and reasonable.”

Other terms of reference include “to look into all issues regarding the implementation of Government directives between the university and members of Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU).

ALSO READ  Why University of Benin Remains Most Sought After Institution In Nigeria - VC

“To look into the future funding for the university in the light of the Coronavirus pandemic,” and “To look into any other matter, which in the opinion of the Visitation Panel, is incidental to its assignment.”

Share This On:
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Nigeria News





To Top